Forum Discussion

12 years ago

Linux Client Install

Trying to install Linux Client (64-bit OEL 5.0) and don't know which file I should download.

I have very little experience with Linux so confused as to what the different file names mean. Could someone help me understand what the LinuxS and LinuxR means as well as what zLinux signifies

Which of the 4 choices shoud I download for my needs? Thanks in advance!

NetBackup_7.5_LinuxR_x86_64.tar.gz

NetBackup_7.5_LinuxS_x86_64.tar.gz

NetBackup_7.5_zLinuxR.tar.gz

NetBackup_7.5_zLinuxS.tar.gz

• None of those. All of them are for Servers.

You need the Client software. It includes sofware for all Unix/Linux clients.

I don't have access to actual file names right now, but they should be something like:

NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.1of3 
    NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.2of3 
    NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.3of3 

There will also be a text file telling you how to merge and extract the software.

6 Replies

• None of those. All of them are for Servers.

You need the Client software. It includes sofware for all Unix/Linux clients.

I don't have access to actual file names right now, but they should be something like:

NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.1of3 
    NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.2of3 
    NB_CLT_7.5-tar-split.3of3 

There will also be a text file telling you how to merge and extract the software.

• close; they are

NetBackup_7.5_CLIENTS_tar-gz.1of3

NetBackup_7.5_CLIENTS_tar-gz.2of3

NetBackup_7.5_CLIENTS_tar-gz.3of3

oh, and LinuxR is for RedHat servers, LinuxS is for SuSE servers, and zLinux is for IBM z series machines.

• You need the NetBackup_7.5_CLIENTS_tar-gz, as already pointed out.

NetBackup_7.5_AIX64.tar.gz - AIX 64 bit Server
    NetBackup_7.5_CLIENTS_tar-gz - All Unix (and Linux) Clients
    NetBackup_7.5_HPIA.tar.gz - HPIA64 Server
    NetBackup_7.5_HP_RISC64.tar.gz - HP RISC 64bit Server
    NetBackup_7.5_LU_tar - NetBackup 7.5 Live Update packages
    NetBackup_7.5_LinuxR_x86_64.tar.gz - Linux Redhat x86_64 Server