Forum Discussion

Lylex
Level 3
13 years ago

media eject problem

I'm a substitute SysAdmin here, with a couple of questions on ejecting tapes.  We're running Netbackup 7.0 on Solaris, with a StorageTek L180.

I select a couple of tapes and choose eject.  The eject dialog screen pops up with the selected tapes.  I click "eject", and they do eject.  But after removing the tapes from the MAP, I click "close" but the window just hangs.  I can't close the window, select the Errors tab, or access the main interface anymore.  The only way out is to stop the server processes (/etc/init.d/netbackup stop).

In another case, when I eject a tape to the MAP but don't remove it right away, after a while it gets replaced in the library.  I suppose this is the "Media ejection timeout period"  described in the Unix Server doc.  It probably happened after 30min, though it's a little surprising since the manual only lists a 30min timeout for 8MM and DLT, not LTO.  I'm new to NetBackup, but other backup systems just eject a tape...period.  So I guess I don't understand the design philosophy yet.

Finally, I know the normal SysAdmin pulls the ejected tapes from the MAP, then loads scratch tapes in the MAP before closing out the eject window in the user interface.  The scratch tapes wind up being checked in.   This certainly seems to work, but I'm used to a seperate inventory process to check-in scratch tapes.  What's the normal way to do this under NetBackup?

Thanks...Lyle

• two step - just to make sure you are doing it right.

Proper- eject - tells you to remove the tapes from the map and asks you do you want to proceed - and you say yes -  this only works if you ACTUALLY remove the tapes from the MAP.  You then have to give it time to scan the MAP to make sure all tapes have been removed... This might be your close issue - give it time to rescan the MAP.

----------------------------------------

How must people do it.  

Select your tapes

say eject

it moves the tapes to the MAP