Forum Discussion

Tape_Archived
6 years ago

Recommended Encryption option for NBU Appliance??

I think we have two options available to enable encryption on Netbackup Appliance 5240. I am using 5240 as media server. 1. Local Encryption provided by appliance itself - Manage > Host > Deduplicat...
    6 years ago

Tape_Archived

You are correct - there is very little activity here from knowledgeable Appliance experts.

I will add my 2c with the following disclaimers:
    1. I am not an Appliance expert
    2. I am not an Encryption expert and have never been ask to assist with configuration.

IMHO - KMS is used for tape drives (LTO4 or later). So, if the customer has a requirement to have tapes encrypted, then KMS needs to be configured. 
    There is short section in Appliance Security Guide:
    https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/doc/96220900-127024912-0/v97514945-127024912

As far as MSDP encryption is concerned, it will again come down to customer requirements - 'in flight' and/or 'at rest'. 

For 'in flight' encryption, I would look at this section in the Dedupe Guide: 
    “To configure backup encryption on all client-side deduplication clients”.

If only 'at rest' MSDP encryption is required, I would look at :
    “To configure backup encryption on a single host”.
    Or no 1 in your opening post:
    1. Local Encryption provided by appliance itself - Manage > Host > Deduplication > Encryption - Enable

HTH

Tape_Archived
    6 years ago

Thanks for sharing the encryption details Marianne

I ended up working with Support and gained significant details on the appliance encryption. Looks like KMS is better option with more control over keys and supports encryption standards. Also, Veritas seems more inclined towards KMS.