Forum Discussion

A_M_Ash_
Level 6
13 years ago

Hand Over NetBackup

Hi,

I am going to hand over all backup environment using symantec NetBackup 7.0.1

olso to hand over NetBackup 7.0.1 target media product  as : Data Domain ..  EDL ... Centera ..  and tape library.

my question is that i need all question that must be covered in that handover to be able to do backup tasks

Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to all of this

• You can probably learn the very basics of how NetBackup works in a week, but not nearly enough to troubleshoot issues when they arrise.  I would suggest you check with a 3rd party company who provides training and professional services and work with your boss to get them involved with you now, before you have issues.  Your backup environment seems to include multiple disk backup products as well as tape, which would inidcate you have a complex set of backup policies and client backup schedules.  Turning this over to someone with only a week's training is really not a good idea.

13 Replies

• You can probably learn the very basics of how NetBackup works in a week, but not nearly enough to troubleshoot issues when they arrise.  I would suggest you check with a 3rd party company who provides training and professional services and work with your boss to get them involved with you now, before you have issues.  Your backup environment seems to include multiple disk backup products as well as tape, which would inidcate you have a complex set of backup policies and client backup schedules.  Turning this over to someone with only a week's training is really not a good idea.

• Following on from Rons post - learn how to use the logs :  (I personally expect ANY NBU admin to be able to set up unified and legacy logs, change the logging level and colloect the correct logs without help - it's basic stuff and should be learnt as one of the first things).

Set up the legacy logs (eg, logs in /usr/openv/netbackup/logs)