Forum Discussion

Cyprusg21
Level 2
12 years ago

Ready; No idle devices are available

I'm new to Symantec Backup Exec as I've taken over the duties of someone else that left the company.  The problem that I'm having is I can't get Backup Exec to backup anything, not to tape, not to a shared drive, etc..  Logically I would have thought the issue was that the previous employee had used his account for all Symantec functions, I was able to change his account information for all the services and the connection to the server.  Everything appears to be fine, I'm able to do a Test Run without any problems but when I go to do a backup I don't receive any alerts I just get a message that says "Ready; No Idle devices are available".  Same result no matter where I try to backup to.

Anyone seen this before, have any suggestions of how I can fix it?  We're using Backup Exec 2012 S1a.  Thanks

11 Replies

• I didn't ask the question, but I had the same problem at a client location.  Thanks IHCRC.  Your post was right on target.  The disk used for the backup was limited to read-only operation.  I changed it and the backup began.  Such a simple solution!

• On the Home tab, check the Active Alerts section.  Be sure the Time is set to show All because the default is 'Last 12 hours'.  Then see if there is a pending alert pertaining to a recent job.  You can also see if there are pending alert by looking at the Alerts count for each type at the bottom edge of the UI.

Also, check if the Job Queue is on hold.  Go to the 'Backup and Restore' tab and look to the right side of ribbon.  There is a 'Hold Job Queue' button there...see if there if it's box is checked.  If it were, you should have also noticed the warning 'The job queue is on hold' when viewing the Storage.

Hope this helps.

• make sure no other jobs are running at the same time and that device is not busy, you can check this in device details

storage1.PNG

storage2.PNG

storage3.PNG