Forum Discussion

tcoed
Level 2
10 years ago

FC Switch Configuration for Tape Library to NetBackup Device

Hello all! I am new to the world of working with backup appliances. I have an IBM TS3200 tape library with 4 FCs, and a NetBackup appliance with only 2 FCs. I cannot find anything on multiple vendo...
    10 years ago

The Cisco 3750 or 3850 are LAN switches, and as far as I know cannot do SAN FC.

SANs don't have VLANs.  SANs can have VSANs, and you'll have to read up on that - but I doubt very much you will need VSANs - as these are typically used in much larger installatons.

Most Brocade SAN switches have zero port contention, i.e. all SAN switch ports can Tx/Rx at full speed at all times with zero bandwidth contention.  AFAIK, many Cisco SAN switches have port group contention.

Most Broacde SAN switches have feature called 'cut through routing' which can be just great for storage as it completely and utterly eradicates any concept of packet latency.  AFAIK, no Cisco SAN switches have this feature.

Need a link for cut-through routing?

My recommendation is a Brocade SAN switch.  Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

I think what you might be "missing" is just how easy SAN "zoning" really is, once you get your head around it.

Collect the FC HBA WWPNs from the appliance.  These are your initiator WWPNs.

Collect the FC Tape Drive WWPNs from the tape library.  These are you target WWPNs.

Here's an example for Brocade to zone the two appliance FC HBA ports to four FC tape drives:

$ alicreate AL_APPLIANCE1_HBA1_PORT1, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ alicreate AL_APPLIANCE1_HBA1_PORT2, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ alicreate AL_TS3200_TAPE1, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ alicreate AL_TS3200_TAPE2, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ alicreate AL_TS3200_TAPE3, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ alicreate AL_TS3200_TAPE4, "nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn:nn"

$ zonecreate ZN_APPLIANCE1_HBA1_PORT1, "AL_APPLIANCE1_HBA1_PORT1; AL_TS3200_TAPE1; AL_TS3200_TAPE2"