Forum Discussion

esco
Level 4
13 years ago

backing up an oracle database

helo,

I would like to get ideas regarding how to backup an oracle database, I am new to backup exec. Here is my structure.

I have a windows server 2008 which runs backup exec 2010 (The oracle database will be backup to a folder in this server).

I have another server which is rhel 5 (with an oracle 11g databse which i want to backup) with oracle backup agent installed.

When i run symantec backup exec and try to browse through oracle databse i get the message "before you can select this resource for backup configure it using the remote agent utility also called vxmon.exe" as can be seen in the attachment.

is it talking about the remote agent utility in linux or windows server?

can anyone tell me the procedure that need to be in place to backup the oracle database.

after searching i found an article about configuring "Configuring the Oracle Agent on Linux computers". but i am not sure exactly what procedures i should follow and what is the minimum configurations to do oracle backup.

furthermore i have a concern. if i create an instance as described in the article will it have any effect on the databse as it is used by an application which is custom made or the instance is for the purposed of remote agent utility.

attached find the screeshots of my windows and linux servers

Thanks

6 Replies

• You need to configure the remote agent utility on the Oracle server.

Refer to http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO73885

Also refer to http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO73890

• Hi,

You need to configure remote agent utility which is on your RHEL box since the oracle database is on this box.