cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CPS/CPA SQL and Exchange

TomGreen
Level 2
I'm new to Backupexec and I was wondering if anyone can help me with this CPA/CPS stuff?

I'm interested to know how to setup replication and create PIT (point in time copies)

I have just upgraded to 11d and have CPS installed on the same server (I've got a backup job in CPS already running and VSS snaps on the file system)

For exchange do I need to configure a backup to disk policy? Then configure log replication?

Also I have no idea how to configure the MSSQL stuff?

Any URLs, whitepapers for advise on how to actually configure it would be great.

I have a dual drive library and plenty of disk space to play with

R,
Tom

4 REPLIES 4

Ben_L_
Level 6
Employee
Tom,

For setting up Exchange and CPS see page 1235 of the 11d manual.  It's faily simple though.  You will need to setup a job that backs up to disk and just select the check box for CPS in the exchange sections and configure how often you wish to take recovery points.

Here is a white paper for setting up CPS and SQL.  Just click the link for CPS and SQL. It may require you to register to view it though.
http://www.symantec.com/enterprise/products/whitepapers.jsp?pcid=1018&pvid=57_1

Also setting up that continues job is fairly simple as well, basically you just have to select the sql database files and it does the rest.

TomGreen
Level 2
But how does the CPS with SQL ensure consistenacy?  Do you have to take a snapshot like with filesystems?  or it just continuous protection? I ask as there is nothing about snapshots in the whitepaper.

As for the Exchange stuff, should I just setup a CPS job to run during the week to disk and then a policy for disk-to-tape on the weekend?

Still not 100% sure how these two fit in?

Regards,
T

Ben_L_
Level 6
Employee
Tom,

The CPS/SQL and CPS/Exchange are apples and oranges.