cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange Backup not purging logs

Kisad
Level 5

Hi ,

I have a Exchange 2003 full backup running which is not purging the logs after a successful backup. I'm using backupexec 10d. Please help.

PS

-------

I'm a Netbackup Admin and my BackupExec knowledge is a bit limited.' I'm giving best effort support to the customer as I

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Kisad
Level 5

Dell Lam,

Unfortunately  I myself do not have access to the server. The client is sharing the screen via webex and am trying to assist as best as i can.

But if you let me know what more information would be helpful, i can surely get that.

The backup policy is already using full - database & logs (flush committed logs) and AOFO is not selected (I had checked these two after I googled).Thhe client has tried taking backup of individual Storage Groups but that hasnt helped.

As of now I have requested him to run a Incremental Job for one Storage Group  to see if that purges the logs.Dont know if it was worth trying but atleast its gonna buy me some more time.

ZeroCool,

I have pretty sure that the agent is installed and licensed as the backup are getting completed succesfully.If theres a way to check for the license, plz do let me know,I'l double check again.

Thank You Guys for responding.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Dell_Lam
Level 3
Partner Accredited Certified

Hi Kisad,

I don't have enough information to give you an accurate answer but for a backup job to purge your logs you need to do a full backup + verification. Open your job setup and check under settings and select microsoft exchange you should have a the option under information store backups to select full - database & logs (flush committed logs).