cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restore Fail

Debajit_Adhikar
Level 3
Hi Everyone,
i am a newbie in this forum, don't know how to start. Coming to the point.. I have a Dell PV 124LTO3 Tape Autoloader attached with Dell PE 1800 Server. We have installed the Veritas Backup Exec 10d (60 days Trial Version) downloaded from the veritas site. It is running find and i can take backup from it. The problem is that when i try to Restore, its hang and restore fail every time. i cant even take a remote backup of our SQL server database. Is it because of trial version of the software or settings problem.
If anybody can help me to solve this problem i will be highly greatful.

Regards
11 REPLIES 11

Keith_Langmead
Level 6
What error message(s) are you getting when the jobs fail?

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
For the remote SQL backup

Is the Remote Agent installed and running on the SQL Server? Does the BackupExec Service Account have Admin rights within SQL?

sammyc53
Level 5
In the Job Log, are ANY bytes of data exchanged at all? or is it zero?

If it's around 300 bytes, be sure ALL firewalls are off.

Debajit_Adhikar
Level 3

@Keith Langmead wrote:
What error message(s) are you getting when the jobs fail?

Thanks for your reply..

1. NO ERROR MESSAGE SHOWS....ITS SIMPLY HANG..

Debajit_Adhikar
Level 3

@Sam Cayze wrote:

YEA IN THE JOB LOG FILE ITS ZERO...I SWITCH OFF ALL FIREWALLS BUT STILL THE RESTORE FAILS..WHAT TO DO?

Debajit_Adhikar
Level 3

@ken Putnam wrote:
For the remote SQL backup

Is the Remote Agent installed and running on the SQL Server? Does the BackupExec Service Account have Admin rights within SQL?

NO I DIDN'T KNOW THAT..THANKS 4 THE INFORMATION. I WILL TRY IT AGAIN

Debajit_Adhikar
Level 3

@Sam Cayze wrote: