cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

11d CPS doesn't use low badwidth well

Roger_Sager
Level 4
Hi folks...
I have been trailing 11d of CPS for several months. We have 4 remote (source) Windows 2003 file servers, typically storing word, excel, power point (ppt) files as well as mail *.pst's. etc, etc. Our bandwidth (BW) to these remote servers is 256 Kbps max. When monitoring a specific job that has no BW set, and running it continously (Whenever a file changes)...it take days to sync...then once it sync's the run stage is set to Dynamic. I have connected remotely to the source and copied a 7 MB ppt file into a directory (that has been selected for protection by the CPS server) on the source remote server. I watched the Monitor Pair for over an hour but the ppt file was never replicated up to the target (CPS Server)? So what ever it is doing in the Dynamic mode is unknown. I restarted the remote services, but nothing seems to change.
Another observation...when the CPS Server is sync'ing to a remote server (like when the job is first started) the path as display in the "Current file or folder" doesn't seem to change for hours? I think it fixes on a path and never changes until the source and target are fully synced.
The developers really need to fix these issue. The transfer rates and total transferred continue to changes, but not the path. So it doesn't really appear to be doing anything.
Cheers...Roger
2 REPLIES 2

perry_baker
Level 6
Employee Accredited
Roger,

After you copied the ppt file to the source server did you look in the Backup Destination folder to see if it was present? The file transfer could, possibly, have already completed by the time you looked at the job. There is also a possibility that there was a problem transferring the file that was causing the job to fail and restart multiple times but that is the least likely of the possible reasons.