cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About handling 'archive bit' by 'Oracle full backup'

Masahiro_Tanigu
Level 2
At first, I'm not good at English. Could you please tell me when you can't understand I mean? I'll rewrite a part you says.

A part of Environment:
BE : BE 9.1 Rev4691
Agent : Oracle Agent

I did 'Online Oracle Full Backup' using Oracle Agent, I found that any files which is containing Oracle DB(*.DBF,REDO**.LOG) weren't modified regarding archive bit. their status(arhive bit) are still ON even though finished Backup.

So, I can't get any Incremental/Differential backup by using 'archive bits'.

I confirmed that other 'FullBackup' which doesn't contain any Oracle file. And I found It had no problem.(status of archive bits changed correctly.)

Any Idea/Suggestion are welcome.

Thank you for your reading my broken English.

Masahiro Taniguchi
2 REPLIES 2

Renuka_-
Level 6
Employee
Hello,
Symptom:
After a full online backup of an Oracle Database Archive Logs performed by the Backup Exec Oracle Agent, the Archive Bit will not be reset.
Solution:
A backup and restore solution that relies on the reset of the Archive bit on the Windows NT and Windows 2000 operating system prior to deleting the Archive logs after a Full Backup has been performed, is not a recommended strategy by Oracle.
During the recovery of an Oracle Database, Oracle will always reference the SCN (System Change Number) (Block Level) to determine what files are required for the recovery, and to what point the Database will be recovered to.
This method of file reference is also used to determine if a file will be backed up Incrementally or Cumulatively. Oracle does not use, or have any interest in, the Archive Bit of a file at the OS level for file reference. The Properties Sheet of Oracle files also differ from the Normal properties sheet found on Windows NT and Windows 2000 as indicated in