cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 R3 Restore Error

heinemasterklm
Level 3

Hello all,

I am a symantec backup exec newbie, please accept my apologizes if I have posted wrong messages and discussions by mistake.

I have a very simple running network.

DC - Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 as a domain Controller

EX - Windows Server 200 R2 Service Pack 1 as an Exchange Server 2010

I have installed Symantec Backup Exec 2010 R3 onto the DC and created 2 jobs to backup DC and EX separately which were successful, onto a external USB device (F:), so simply my 2 backup-to-disk folders are located at F:\Backup Exec\AD and F:\Backup Exec\EX

Right now I am trying to restore the DC machine onto a similar (hardware component) machine, so my steps to perform the process will be...

1) A brand new installation of Windows Server 2008 R2 onto the new machine

2) Install Symantec Backup Exec 2010 R3 (I am using a NOT-FOR-SALE) version, and finished Live Updates

3) Install the following agents (which ones are really necessary)

- Exchange Agent

- Active Directory Reocover Option

- VMWare Virtual Infrastructure Agent

4) Copy C:\Program Files\Symantec\Backup Exec\Catalogs from the running DC server to the new machine (to make sure the new installation sees the backup media)

5) Re-mount backup-to-disk folders to the same name (is it necessary?)

6) Re-start

7) Run a restore job to restore all the components that I have backed up, (C: (500GB HD), E: (1TB HD), system state, MS SQL and shadow copy components)

In the setup, I have also checked the following options

- Under general settings

--- (Checked) Restore all information for files and directories

--- (Checked) Reserve tree

--- (Checked) Restore over existing files

- Under Advanced Settings

--- (Checked) Mark the server as the primary arbitrator for replication when restoring folders managed by the File Replication Service