cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DELL PowerVault 132T Tape Library with 11D...is it working for anyone?

Frederick_Mutua
Level 3
Hi.

I am at a loss here, we have a DELL PV 132T unit with 2 LTO 3 tape drives and I can not get the drives or the Tape Libray to show in the Back Up Exec Devices. 

The server is a Windows 2003 Dell 2850 with an Adaptec SCSI Card 39160 in it.  The devices show in device manager (with the yellow !), but are all there.  I can run the tapeinst.exe and it will apply the Symantec drivers to the drives, but they never show in the device manager window.   How do I load symantec trivers for the tape libray or should it be using the ones already there by Dell?

I am new to Backup Exec, we are converting from Yosemite backup; since we just deployed Backup Recorovery also.  Any help that you can provide would be greatly appreciated!!!

Dave
11 REPLIES 11

Frederick_Mutua
Level 3
Still looking for help on this issue.

Thanks!

Ben_L_
Level 6
Employee
Dave,

Does the library show up in device manager?  It should be listed under medium changers.

After you run tapeinst the tape drives are not listed in device manager after the reboot or do they just not show up in the Devices tab in BE?

Can you check your event viewer to see if there are any errors coming from the library or scsi card?

Frederick_Mutua
Level 3
Ben,

Yes the library does show up in device manager, but not in the BE device tab. 

Since the first post I also have attached an EXABYTE VXA 1x10 1U   VXA-2 device and it does show in BE, but not the drive. The changer shows up under robotic libraries, but noting as robotic library drives.

I still can not get the Dell PV 132T to show at all in BE.

I have no errors on the scsi in the event viewer.

Thanks,

Dave

Ben_L_
Level 6
Employee
Dave,