cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dedup Duplicate to Tape

mlariv
Level 2

Hi,

I am a consultant tasked with rebuilding a Dell Deduplication appliance on a BUE2010 R3 environment.

Currently I am having trouble bridging the gap with SLP's.  How can i rehydrate and duplicate to tape the backups?

The backup policy I have specifies to:

Backup Exchange 1 & 2 to Dedup & Keep for 3 Months

-> Monthly Duplicate from Disk to tape and store in media set for 7 years.

Thank you,

Matt

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Well, you'd simply create your primary backup jobs pointing to the dedupe folder which is in a media set with a specific Append/OPP settings.

Then, using the TN below, you create your duplicate job to duplicate the previous backup to tape:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH24544

Thanks!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

CraigV

Hi,

within your policy if you run 1, you can add in a stage that will duplicate to tape. This is going to automatically rehydrate the data...you don't do anything. Your tape media should be a separate media set with the correct Append/OPP settings on it so that it doesn't assume any existing media set settings.

If you don't have a policy in place, you can still add in a rule that duplicates to disk.

Thanks!

pkh
   VIP    Certified

When you talked about policy, are you referring to a policy in BE or your brief?

mlariv
Level 2

CraigV I have seen that in SLPs in NetBackup but that does not appear to be a feature in BUE 2010.

I dont exactly know how to do this in BUE2010 but I'd like to have a single job and selection list to do the following:

Exchange Backup

-> Monthly full to Dedup (3 month retention)

+ Duplicate to tape for 7 year offsite retention

-> Nightly diff to Dedup (3 month retention)

Fileservers, DB's and Oracle Backup

-> Weekly full to Dedup (3 Month Retention)