cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange Server explorer.exe memory leak starts during BE job

casit
Level 3

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here, so thanks in advance.

Our environment:

BackExec 2010 running in Server 2003 (x86), Dell PE2900 III

Exchange 2007 running in SBS2008 (x64), IBM x3650 M3 server

SQL 2008 Standard running in Server 2008 Standard (x64), IBM x3650 M3 server

The issue I am experiencing is that while the server hosting BE 2010 runs our daily backup job, on the exchange server explorer.exe begin eating all available memory until it hit 99% usage and services grind to a halt (this is also our DC).  Even after the BE job completes (or fails), exporer.exe will retain the memory until I reboot the exhange server.

This issue first appeared when I replaced a failed Raid5 drive.  Although IBM approved, it was a Seagate rather than IBM, and came with Full Disk Encryption capability (not active).  The following BE job failed and explorer.exe hung the exchange server, so I enabled Advance Open File per the error report from the failed job.  The next several jobs then ran without issue, then the next failed and exchange hung.  After that, the jobs began running to completion, but exchange hangs with the explorere.exe issue every time.

Presently I am testing to see if turning off verify for the job in BE will prevent to hang, but that is a temporary solution even if it works.

Has anyone here experienced or heard of an issue like this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

1) If you are not already on BE 2010 R3 SP4, I would suggest that you upgrade to BE 2010 R3 which is the latest version. Your existing licence keys will work.  You can download BE 2010 R3 from either the fileconnect site or

http://trialware.norton.com/files/fc/Backup_Exec_2010_13.0.5204_MultiPlatforms_Multilingual_DVD.iso