Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[HELP] Customize backup jobs schedules in backup Exec 2012

wenn
Level 3
Partner Accredited

Hi All,

I'm new to backup Exec 2012 and the the new interface is a little bit confusing for me as I have just experience with backup exec 12.

I'm implementing this backup strategy:

- Daily backups to disks with one week retention

- Weekly backups on Friday to disk then duplicate to media set 1

- Monthly backups on the last Friday of the month to disk then dusplicate to media set 2.

To ascheive that, I implemented 2 backup jobs for my server: One that includes full (weekly backups) and Differential backup and replicate full backups to media set 1. The second job include Full (monthly backups that replicate to media set 2.

How to specifiy if the monthly and weekly backups are in conflicts, Monthly backup replace Weekly? (I tried to exclude the date in the calendar but it delete all jobs scheduled in the date).

Is this the right way to implment my tape rotation strategy.

best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

Create one Job definition containing

Full Monthly stage to disk (as example set to start at 20:00 on last Friday)

Duplicate Stage of monthly to tape (if you can, use the option to run immediately after the initial job finishes for the schedule as I am not sure the duplicate jobs honour the hiden rule concept)

Full Weekly Stage to disk (scheduled for every Friday at 20:00, to ensure that the hidden rule applies)

A different duplicate stage of weekly to tape (against set to run immediately after initial job runs) - this one then allows you to set the separate media set. Note if you think you can't do this then look at adding the stage using the button at the bottom of the column containing the initial backup stages (a lot of customers try to use the button at the bottom of the second column that contains the first duplicate stage configuration.)