cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need help setting up a backup strategy from scratch

TonyWalthall
Level 2
My company has no self-contained backup strategy.  we currently use a subcontractor and pay for backup services.  I am in charge of developing a new, local backup plan.

Here is what we have :
3 Office servers (2 local in San Diego, and 1 in Boston)
A domain
SQL
Exchange 2003
Sharepoint
Server 2003 for Small Business on all these servers

Here is where each service resides:
server # 1 = exchange, SQL
server #2 = sharepoint
server #3 (off-site in Boston) = nothing as yet

I have 2 tape drives available.  We just bought Backup Exec 11d for windows servers (not installed yet), and we also have continuous protection server 11d & Remote Agent for Windows Servers.

Tape 1 is internal to server #1.

Tape 2 is external and not installed as yet.  I can put it on any server.

Anyone have a backup strategy for me??? I am completely new to this.

2 REPLIES 2

PHOENIX_2
Level 4
Partner
Hi Tony,

After seeing your infratsructure. i want to know about the followings:
1 - On which server your internal tape drive is attached. And what is the type (details) of Tape Drives.
2 - whether you have separate Domain controller or it was among one of those you have stated.
3 - Do you wish to have a separate Backup Server or you want to install on existing backup servers.
4 - What is the link between your local site and Boston.
5 - How frequently your organization access Mails, rate of change of mail messages.

You have 2003 SMB on all servers, so if you wish to apply Backup Exec then you must have Backup Exec SMB Edition.

Please provide me these information so that i can better hepl you out.

Thanks

TonyWalthall
Level 2
Thank you for the re-direct.

Tape drive 1 is internal on server 1.  This tape drive is a DLT VS160 internal tape drive that I assume uses a 160 GB tape