cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If vm size is more than 500 GB, Normal backup fails!!

rahulvenu
Level 2

The job failed with the following error: The operation failed because the virtual center or ESX server reported a problem creating or acessing one or more files needed. Event ID: 34113.

Can somebody help me out from this issue? I am new to this discussion Forum, and I hope I will find some help.

For your information.

This happens with backup of VMs that are more than 500 GB of size.

In my case I have a windows 2008 r2 OS and Fedora 64 bit OS.

1. Windows system =(80 GB+700 GB) HDD, 4 GB RAM

2. Linux system = 80 GB + 500 GB, 4 GB RAM

It does not matter whether the VMs are online or offline. It does not matter whether the agent is installed or not installed. Error is the same.

My product is Symantec BackupExec 2010.

I went through some kb which explains this issue during incremental/differential backup. My backup is Normal.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...like I said, if it is 512.01GB, it's too big on a 1MB block size, and you'd have to storage vmotion it to a pool formatted with 2MB and bigger. Unfortunately, you might be looking at a complete format on the data store, and if you don't have free disk space elsewhere this becomes a problem.

BE isn't the only application with an issue like this...we run Veeam to back up the VMs entirely, and anything bigger than 512GB fails on the snapshot too. We're in the process of changing this on our MSAs to 8MB block sizes.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

CraigV

Hi,

I don't think this is a BE issue. We had the same issue on 1 of our sites...Veeam (we use it because we don't license AVVI, and the backups are very fast!) wouldn't snapshot a VM as the *.vmdk file was 512GB + a bit.