Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem Verfiying

Ashish_Uttamcha
Level 3
Partner
Hello,

Let me first introduce myself, I am a Sys Engineer for a I.T support company and one of our clients have been experiencing a very odd problem. Our client back-up about 100-120GB of data daily using Veritas Back Exec 10.0, they use an hp ultrium tape drive in a HP ML570 G2 Server.

We have replaced the tape drive, the SCSI controller, reinstalled the tape drive & reinstalled Veritas but this problem still occurs. The problem is, basically when the verify is set ON there is a error always coming up stating "e00084ca - The data being read from the media is inconsistent.
For additional information regarding this error refer to link V-79-57344-33994"

I've been to the website and tried everything suggested such as cleaning tape, changing tapes etc but with no success. Some of us have narrowed out the fact that it is a hardware problem as we have replaced basically everything.

From doing various backup test scenarios I have gathered this information:

* It seems that data below 70Gb�s is backed up and verified without a problem regardless of it�s on the C or D drive.

* In the logs when the verify usually failed on the D drive not on the C.

It seems that the verify always gives that same error when it is verifying the tape against the D:. My theory is that there are some files on the D that are interfering with the Veritas when it is verifying or the actual D: on the HP server is faulty..

I am at a lost at what to do with this issue and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks folks.

Ashish
7 REPLIES 7

Ashish_Uttamcha
Level 3
Partner
Also, what I was thinking is that if I can extract a more detailed log on the D: drive so I can determine what file/folder may be giving problems? How would I be able to obtain this?

Thanks,

Ashish_Uttamcha
Level 3
Partner