cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems recognizing tape storage

WPS-OIT
Level 2

I am new to Backupexec so if I am not presenting any information needed, please let me know.

I have a new Exchange 2010 server that I set up on Windows 2008 R2. It is a guest machine on VMware 4.1. I have a Quantum Scalar i40 tape library connected to the system with a mini-SAS connection.

I installed Backupexec 2010 v. 13.0 Rev. 2896 (64bit). Under devices it detects and installs something it calls "HP 1". I look at the properties and it says the product is an Ultrium 5-SCSI, and it gives the same serial number that belongs to the drive on the Quantum Scalar i40. It also lists it as "offline."

I try to set it as "online" or inventory it using Backupexec and I get errors:

"Inventory Drive 00005 -- The job failed with the following error: Physical Volume Library Drive not found."

I also see the following in the event viewer:

"The drive hardware is offline. Please confirm that the drive hardware is powered on and properly cabled."

I used the symantec drivers when installing. I can't seem to figure out how to remove it and then use the Quantum Scalar i40 drivers. Any thoughts?

9 REPLIES 9

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

Please check the Windows device manager, If the OS does not detect the device then 

Backup Exec will not be able to detect the same.

WPS-OIT
Level 2

AmolZeroCool,

Windows sees the device as "Hewlett Packard LTO Ultrium-5 Drive".

AmolB

Do you see an entry called "Medium changer" in the device manager.

legioon
Level 4

when you select "online" option it's not mean really online.

Please unistall all ultrium drivers on devices and manager and uninstall all symantec driver on your system. after reboot your server and check your cables. after reboot again install your symantec driver.

WPS-OIT
Level 2

AmolZeroCool,

No, I do not see that in the device manager.

AmolB