cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Symantec Backup Exec 2010 - VMware "Licensed Feature"

RyanJP
Level 3

I'm a bit new to Backup Exec and I'm trying to drill down into our Backup Exec/VMware backups/licensing. We purchased a Symantec Backup Exec 2010 agent for VMware Virtual infrastructure. I know that you have to buy something in VMware as well to make that work. Here is the licensed features area of our vmware host:

Is Data Recovery the Symantec add on for VMware? If it is not being utilized on this server, can that licensed feature be moved to a different ESXi host?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

Look at the screenshot of your VMware licencing that you have posted earlier.  Among the features listed is the vStorage API's.  This is the VMware feature that BE requires, so you are good to go.  This is probably what your boss is referring to.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

That appears to be a list of active/licensed features from a VMware point of view. The Backup Exec license bought from Symantec for VMwafre would not show up here, it shows in the Backup Exec Console.

EDIT:

Are you sure it is not a license for this

http://www.vmware.com/support/vdr/doc/vdr_200_releasenotes.html

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

I know that you have to buy something in VMware as well to make that work.

As per SCL

Note: All free versions of ESXi (3.5i and 4i) require a minimum license from VMware in order to be protected by Backup Exec. This is due to the lack of vStorage API for Data Protection support in the free unlicensed versions of ESXi and is a current limitation of VMware.

RyanJP
Level 3

AmolZeroCool - As you can see in the picture, we do have that server licensed.