cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trial Agent for Applications and Databases BE14

ScoutIT
Level 3

Hello all,

We upgraded from BE10 to BE14 and I am still getting used to the software since I have never used it before.  I noticed on the Home page that under Licensing and Maintenance Contracts that I have 9 trial licenses expiring in 45 days.  I found that the licenses are for the Agent for Applications and Databases.

We do have backups running on some servers that have SQL DBs but I do not see this agent running on those servers.  How can I determine the 9 servers that this trial is running on?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

That just unlocks the ability to "see" an application like SQL. By default, BE ships with trial licenses for 60 days, andyou've obviously activated them, hence the 45 days left.

You need to check which servers have databases selected in your backups and you will then know which servers are effectively using the agent, which is relevant when it comes to licensing the application.

All you will see running on the remote servers is the BE remote agent, which communicates back to the media server. The media server also uses the agent to access the application, unlocked via the Agent for Applications and Databases.

Thanks!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

CraigV

Hi,

That just unlocks the ability to "see" an application like SQL. By default, BE ships with trial licenses for 60 days, andyou've obviously activated them, hence the 45 days left.

You need to check which servers have databases selected in your backups and you will then know which servers are effectively using the agent, which is relevant when it comes to licensing the application.