cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from Backup Exec 12 SP4 to 2010; Tips?

hiestandc
Level 3
Hi Everyone,

We currently run BEX 12 SP4 on four of our servers, all locally installed. All of the servers have Server 2003 R2, generally with the latest updates (we run them about once a month, so they're about a month behind right now). Any tips on upgrading from BEX 12 to 2010 on these servers? We again have four licenses for 2010 and we'll be installing the upgrade locally on the four servers. I saw a Symantec upgrade "Best Practices" guide, but if someone could explain what needs to be backed up, as well as how to run database maintenance (which the guide mentioned to do right before the upgrade), I would really appreciate it. I'm still very new to dealing with BEX and our director who has dealt with it in the past is no longer here.

I should note that of the four servers, one of them is our Exchange 2007 server - I'm not sure it makes any difference in the upgrade, but I thought it should be noted.

Thanks in advance,
-CR
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited
Hi.

Some of my experiences:

1. disable your antivirus...this has caused issues with active scanning during my SQL upgrades, causing them to corrupt catastrophically. You can start the services for your AV up again afterwards.
2. Make a backup of your Data and Catalogs folder. This ensures that if you have any issues, you are able to revert.
3. If you have a CASO server, upgrade that first along with all your other servers as soon as possible thereafter. If you ARE able to create another CASO server (either VM/physical) this will allow you to migrate servers across in a more controlled fashion.
4. Get any patches needed now...this saves time waiting for them to download.
5. Plan for possible downtime...you will most likely need to restart your media server/s after upgrading. I have yet to restart my servers running RAWS.