cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What exactly does AOFO do?

Brandon_Turner
Level 2
I am new to Veritas Backup Exec. I'm wondering what exactly the Advanced Open File Option does if it does not backup open files. I consistently get corrupt file data on PST files as well as AOFO errors on Exchange Public Folders, MICROSOFTSMLBIZ, SBSMONITORING, and SHAREPOINT. I am running Microsoft Small Business Server 2003. I will often be doing backups when people are in the office and working and so am looking for the best solution to backup files even if they are open. It seems the only way to get around these errors is to turn off AOFO, which seems like something I don't want to do. Any help would be appreciated.
3 REPLIES 3

Asma_Tamboli
Level 6
Hi,

It is usually recommended that the databases like "SQL" and "exchange" not be backed up using the AOFO and that they be backed up using the agents instead. Refer to the following document:

What is the intended use of the Open File Option and the Advanced Open File Option?

http://support.veritas.com/docs/263784

Note : If we do not receive your reply within two business days, this post would be marked ‘assumed answered’ and would be moved to ‘answered questions’ pool.

Brandon_Turner
Level 2
I tried the directions in the link you sent. I excluded certain exchange files. I still can't backup pst files, but I'm willing to let that go by modifying the registry so it won't trigger an error.