cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I setup application monitoring in VCS?

GeorgeC
Level 4
Hello All, I am very new to VCS and I'm wondering if somebody out there can provide some pointers on how I would go about setting up application monitoring to handle stop/starts/status etc of of application services groups. Here is my situation. I'm running Storage Foundation Cluster File System HA on a two node Solaris 10 cluster The application that I am trying to cluster is syslog-ng The cluster will serve as a HA syslog cluster. I will be setting up service group on each node with a VIP and storage resources. In addition, each SG will have 10 application resources, each of which controls a syslog-ng process. I have been able to setup the service group, with the vip, storage and 1 syslog-ng. However, If the syslog-ng process dies, (I.e I kill it off via kill -9 process-ID) the cluster does not restart it on the node it was running on, but, fails it over instead. For now, I have the cluster monitoring the /var/run/syslog-ng#.pid file. This sort of works for the initial setup/testing but, I need more in depth monitoring in place before I move the cluster into production. So I guess my question is, how do I set up application monitoring. TIA, George
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

AHerr
Level 5
Employee Accredited Certified
Hi George,

There are three basic ways to configure an application within VCS.
You could use the process agent, the application agent or write your own custom agent.

1) The Process Agent will manage a single process.  It will run commands needed to start and stop the process as well as ensure that the process is currently running.

2) The Application Agent will run scripts to start/stop/clean your application.  It can use three different options for monitoring; It can monitor a process, you can execute a program to monitor your application or it will watch a pid file.