Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cumulative size of all the log files in the database

FI4JOVA
Level 4
Partner

Hi there,

have some "critical" error in the Enterprise Vault Performance Counters ..

The "Cumulative size of all the log files in the database" value is much more higher than the treshold.

The backup on that DB is running fine also for the transaction logs.

I'm not a SQL expert and I don't now how to troubleshoot..

Please help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jim_leggett
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

There is not much information on what the recommendation for the threshold should be as it would be environment specific.

But I think the primary concern for monitoring this counter has to do with running out of disk space. As sql performance may be impacted of there is not enough disk space to where the transaction logs are stored.

So if you have plenty of disk space you can probably safely increase that threshold.

I suspect that you are backing up and truncating the logs regularly so you may be in a situation where your threshold is just set to low for your environment.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

jim_leggett
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

There is not much information on what the recommendation for the threshold should be as it would be environment specific.

But I think the primary concern for monitoring this counter has to do with running out of disk space. As sql performance may be impacted of there is not enough disk space to where the transaction logs are stored.

So if you have plenty of disk space you can probably safely increase that threshold.

I suspect that you are backing up and truncating the logs regularly so you may be in a situation where your threshold is just set to low for your environment.

RahulG
Level 6
Employee