Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enterprise Vault - Email Cross Forest Email Migration

hopways
Level 2
Partner

Hi,

Im a newbie to this  community so may i say a big Hello and Happy new year to everyone :)

its a number of years since i last touched enterprise vault version 7 i think so i come cap in hand for a little help please

anyway i have a client who is looking at doing the following and i was wondering if anyone can let me know if this is capable and steer me in the right direction

the client wishes to migrate from a Windows 2003 and Exchange 2003 based Forest utilising EV 8.03 to a new Forest based on Windows 2012, Exchange 2013 and EV 10.03

I know we can accomplish this with using Exchange cross forest migration tools i.e. upgrade to Exchange 2010 etc and do a manual re-inflate of mail data migrate etc but this will take an e-longated amount of time and additional storage costs

i was wondering if we could create a new Flat e-mail system and repoint the new Forest mailboxes at the existing EV Servers an retrieve their 'old' email data from an EV archive

if we can do this we will save them a huge amount of time as their is approximately 4,000 mailboxes

again if this is possible what process can we then use to migrate the EV Servers to the new Forest

thanks to everyone or anyone who can helps

kind regards

John

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JesusWept3
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

With a project like that, i'd look in to something like Archive Shuttle from Quadrotech (contact Rob Wilcox or Tony Sterling on the forum) or TransVault (contact Andrew Becker from Trace3).....

Or you could possibly use EV Move Archive to migrate the data but that would take quite a lot of work to move the 4000 mailboxes

But you could definitely upgrade to EV9 SP4 in place.
Then set up the new EV10 SP4 servers and use the settings migration wizard , and then just move the data from the EV9 SP4 server to the EV10 SP4 data etc