cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to check when "Enterprise Vault is not available" appears in Outlook?

BruGuy
Level 6
Hello,

First off, I'm a newbie with EV. I've installed the system and configured one user. It was working for that test user, and I could archive items. However, I had to reinstall the PC where Outlook was installed and now the  tab in Outlook Today's properties says "Enterprise Vault is not available." That's odd because I can search the vault from the same client and see the previously archived test items.

Could someone please give me general things to check when that happens?

Also, I haven't put the client PC in a Windows domain yet - does that matter?

Thanks,

- Alan.

12 REPLIES 12

Maverik
Level 6
It would probably make things easier if it was a member of the domain.

Search VAults is just a web page so as long as autehtinctaion takes place this will work.

Not really enough info here to diagnose exactly what is going on. Is the EV client installed? Can you see any buttons such as the archive, restore if these are allowed?  Are the Archived emails forms dispalying correctly with archived mail icons?

BruGuy
Level 6
Yes, all the buttons are visible, the previously archived items are present with the correct icon, the EV tab is available in Outlook Today properties and the EV client is installed. The only difference is that it's a installation of Outlook on new PC which isn't in any domain.

MichelZ
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
Hi

Is there an authentication popup?

/Michel

cloudficient - EV Migration, creators of EVComplete.

BruGuy
Level 6
Yes, when I start Outlook. So I enter domain/username and password and the mailbox opens fine.

MichelZ
Level 6
OK, but there is no authentication when you try to open an Archived Element?
Is the EV Server listed on the Client's Internet Explorer "Intranet" Zone?

BruGuy
Level 6