cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Jobs Issue (beginner)

flavor4real
Level 5
Good Morning,
I'm new with Netbackup but know Backup Exec 12.5. I have job issues on netbackup, which i've setup.
I've setup 4 clients to be backed up (Full-backup) and each client schedule is setup for the weekends where the start is on friday 1800 and the end monday 0500. Retention is 1 month.
The 4 clients are all setup with the same schedule, and last weekend was the first time where the client policies ran.

I looked at the reports this morning and it looks like that all 4 clients were backed up but then they were backed up 1 or 2 more times. 3 cbackup jobs started monday morning and they were still runing when i came in.

My question:
How can I ensure that a t backup job will run only one time in the specified schedule? instead of running 1 or 2 additional times.

thx

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Nitish_R
Level 4
Partner Accredited
the best way to go about is to have 8 individual policies
u have a better control from your activity monitor on the backup jobs that completed successfully.
worried about creating 8 policies?
you can always write click on the initial policy and chose the copy to new policy option.
this will duplicate the policy. you now have to customise the schedule, volume pool and client and the job is done.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

RahulG
Level 6
Employee
Start/End Time of Start Window only tells backup job when the job can start. As long as the job starts, it will continue to run until it is finished and is not dependent on the end time of the start window.So you can just configure accordingly
Refer the following document http://support.veritas.com/docs/209227

Andy_Welburn
Level 6