cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a hourly backup policy for transaction log backup in Netbackup 6.5

dakillacat
Level 3

I'm a newbie to Netbackup 6.5 and need to create hourly backups for MS-SQL transaction logs. I created a policy with a weekly full, daily differential incremental and an hourly differential incremental schedule. I need the hourly schedule to start backups 15 minutes after the top of the hour, every hour. I can't find a way to do that. I searched the forums and did not find any answers that were detailed enough on how their hourly transaction logs were configured.

I'm not sure what I should put in the start window either. I made it to start at 12:20 am on Sunday and end at 12:15 am Sunday for a duration of 6 days 23 hours, 50 minutes. Is this right or do I just set a start time of 12:20 am on Sunday, and end time at 12:30 am on Sunday and leave the rest blank? If I do that will the hourly frequency start jobs 20 minutes after the hour forever? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!!!

12 REPLIES 12

Ver-Cap
Level 3

The frequency mentioned for the time interval will ensure the backup to trigger, may be u can select the start time to 15 minutes after the top of the hour so as per the schedule the backup will trigger in the time interval...

Best Regards,

Kitty

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

You could try...

Make your "Application Backup" schedule 24x7.

For the "Automatic Backup" schedule, which triggers the application backup, change the resolution to 5 mins, set a schedule/run window from 00:15 to 23:30, set to frquency based (not calendar based) and set a frequency of 1 hour.