cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetBackup - Backup Tapes and Offsite Jobs

Crazy_Excalibur
Level 4

We have been doing standard Backups to Disks, and now my company wants Tape Backups done. They want Tapes to be send offsite, some 3rd party company will be picking up the tapes, and have bought NetBackup.

The Backup jobs will be Daily Incrementals and Fulls done on Saturday.

How can this be setup in NetBackup so that everyday tapes are pulled for the Incrementals to be sent offsite? I have heard that maybe creating tape partitions could work, but thought that I could get good advise here.

Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to all of this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sksujeet
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

That can be done easily using the Vault. Create the different volume pools for daily and full backups. Create the vault management profile and use the eject option to eject the daily or full volume pools as desired.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

sksujeet
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

That can be done easily using the Vault. Create the different volume pools for daily and full backups. Create the vault management profile and use the eject option to eject the daily or full volume pools as desired.

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Will you be still using disk backups that will be duplicated to tapes?
The disk backups will be available for onsite restores while offsite tapes will be available for DR.

The method chosen for duplication will depend on type of disk backup:
Basic disk: DSSU (Disk staging storage unit) to duplicate at scheduled times
Advanced disk: SLP (Storage Lifecycle Policy) to automate duplications

As per above excellent post, you can also use the vault option.
You can configure a vault profile to duplicate data from disk to tape and then eject tapes when duplication is done.

Crazy_Excalibur
Level 4