cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAN Client setup ( AIX - IBM 3584 )

Raju_la
Level 5

Hi,

i am new to netbackup ( TSM guy ) , we would like to setup one of our big/critical one as LAN Free/sanclient to IBM 3584 tape library. i read couple of documents its kind of confusion bec somewhere it mentioned that SAN Client supposed to be a FT Media server.

1. Do we need to buy another license of media server for this client ?

setup is pretry much same like tsm ?

a. install client software on client server ( do we need to install any other software like storage agent in TSM other than client software? )

b. zone the client HBA & library fc

c. configure files like bp.conf in client

e. redirect the policy stg to tape stg unit in master server

correct me if i am wrong/miss anything.

if anyone have done this pls share the documents..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

rizwan84tx
Level 6
Certified

Raju,

As per NBU 7 licensing; you need NetBackup Enterprise Client license to support SAN clients backups. The Enterprise Client only functions with NetBackup Enterprise Server.

About FT Media Server: NetBackup media server supporting remote client’s backup over the FT pipe.  Its main purpose is to serve client backups & restore via FC. NetBackup FT media server supports only Linux & Solaris x64 servers and QLogic HBA adapter for target.

About SAN Client: Nothing special installation is required, just regular client installation and it will install all supporting binaries for SAN Client. Initially the FT services will be in stopped state. We have to enable the FT service, once you have setup the FT media server.

About Zonning: You have to zone WWPN of the FT media server Target HBA with SAN clients HBA, so that client initiator port can transfer data to media server target port. If you are backing up to tape, then you have to zone the other HBA (initiator) of the FT media server with the Tape drives.