cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bi-directional AIR

AV-IT
Level 3
Partner Accredited

I have two NetBackup 7.5 domains, each domain with a Master and a Media Server with MSPD. The idea is to have replication from Domain-A to Domain-B, and replication from Domain-B to Domain-A. Is it possible to achieve having a single Storage Server (on Media Server) and a single Dedupe Pool in each domain? Or do I need to add an additional Media Server in each domain?

Thanks!

I am new to AIR, so I might state something obvious...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Yasuhisa_Ishika
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
It is possible, of course. No specific configurations - just configure AIR from Domain A to Domain B, and from Domain B to Domain A.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Yasuhisa_Ishika
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
It is possible, of course. No specific configurations - just configure AIR from Domain A to Domain B, and from Domain B to Domain A.

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

In support of Yasuhisa's post, see this AIR FAQ : http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH154323

Details/HOWTO in NBU Admin Guide I.

PeteWall
Level 4
Employee

To answer another of your questions, you can setup bidirectional AIR with a single dedupe storage server in each domain.  Each dedupe storage server will act as the source and target.  So, for example, the MSDP in NetBackup domain A will replicate images to the MSDP on domain B, and vice versa.

V4
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Just highlighting some myths we presume exist, but it is not

NBU does supports Bi-Directional Auto Image Replication

=> One of fantastic feature from Sym Team (i'm loving it), Yes with NBU it is possible to achieve it by means of configuring SLP and adding Both Storage server credentials amongst each other properties (Replication).