cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can someone explain this product to me?

BPK63
Level 3

I've talked to Symantec reps and read all the pdf files I can find, watched the webinar.  I can't seem to get the simple answers.  They say you can create a recovery point and make an iso cd to boot from.  Where is the data stored and whats on that recovery cd?  If I have a 200 gig server, obviously all that info is not on one cd . Can somebody please explain to me exactly how this product works in plain English?  Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2

galbraithr
Level 3

Hi,

I am no expert but this is my understanding and how I use it in my job function.

Create a recovery point  to a network share, use your boot cd to load the BESR GUI that allows you to map a network drive and restore the recovery point from your network location. This is how we do it & the downloadable iso does include alot of drivers for most server platforms already, we are a HP shop with some Dell workstations.

Hope this helps

Bill_Felt
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Hello,

As a high-level overview, Backup Exec System Recovery creates volume-level backup objects called recovery points (stored in .v2i or .iv2i format).  These recovery points represent full replicas of the volume(s) from which they are captured.  They can be stored to any disk location, whether it be a local (e.g. D:\backups), optical media (e.g. CD-R/DVD-R/Blue-ray), a direct-attached device (e.g. USB drive), or network location (e.g. \\server\share).

Each volume that is backed up will be represented by a separate recovery point.  For example, if I create a backup job that protects my C:\ and D:\ volumes, the result will be two files, C_Drive.v2i and a D_Drive.v2i (filenames are customizable).