cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

B2D2T Backup Help Needed.

infinity98
Level 2

HI Experts

i have a problem.  im new to backup exec so please go easy on me.

i am putting together a solution for multiple sites and want to see the best way to go with this.

i have a central server which i want to do all my backups on to disk for the differentials monday - thursday and a full to disk on the friday.

i want to duplicate that friday backup to tape after the friday disk has backed up.

i also want to reapeat that task on the last saturday of the month for my monthly backup.

i also want this process repeated at a remote site with the same backup policy as above but backing up over the links to disk in the central backup server adn then falling in with the full weekly adn monthly backups.

data is approx 20 GB from the remote site over 10 mb links.

as i say im new to this and am more than likely completly of the mark with my thinking.

appricate your thinking.

6 REPLIES 6

Biker_Dude
Level 5
Employee

With BE installed at the Central Site I will assume each remote server has the BE Remote Agent installed.  That being said, I'll assume you have each remote server already configured in the BE UI, at the Central Server.

For each server you wish to protect, create a multi-staged job like this:

• Stage One: Backup - Full to run every one week on Friday & a Diff to run every 1 week M-Th, targeting the disk
  • Stage Two: Duplicate - Every 1 week on (Friday), targeting the tape drive
  • Stage Three: Duplicate - The last Saturday of every 1 month targeting, the tape drive.

When you get in to the schedule for the Duplicate staged backups, you have the choice to duplicate 'All backups', 'Most recent full backup', or 'Selected backups'.  You'll want to select the 'Selected backups' option because this will allow you to select the Full only backup in Stage One.