cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 12.5 Exchange 2007 (GRT) gives Access Denied errors but it does not make sense.

ldenes
Level 3

Hi,

I have been working with Backup Exec for many years now and this is the first time I am truly stumped.
We backup an Exchange 2007 Server (using the Backup Exec 12.5 agent + Symantec Backup Exec Exchange Agent) to our Backup server running Backup Exec 12.5 Both systems are in the same domain and backup through a maintenance subnet (using a different dedicated NIC/Network segment). All our other backups are setup in the same manner and they all run okay. We previously backed up Exchange (with GRT mailbox and individual mail restore capabilities) with a locally installed version of Backup Exec 11d. It backed up everything locally and then a 2nd backup job sent it to our DD510 NAS device. This worked flawlessly and nothing has changed on the Exchange side except that we uninstalled the full Backup Exec 11d (with all reboots) and pushed the Backup Exec 12.5 agent to it from thededicated backup server and it went over without a hitch.

Backup Server is running Windows 2003 Standard (64bit) SP2
Hotfix: 324947, 317436, 325647, 319242, 324012, 326004, 323894, 324011 (I have not installed the newest one's because of the issue we are having: missing 327135, 328459, 328462, 329045)

Exchange 2007 (SP1) is running on Windows 2003 Standard (64bit) SP2

I keep seeing this error when we attempt to backup the Exchange Storage Group.

Job ended: Thursday, August 20, 2009 at 11:39:33 PM
Completed status: Failed
Final error: 0xe0008488 - Access is denied.
Final error category: Security Errors
For additional information regarding this error refer to link V-79-57344-33928
Backup- \\172.xx.xx.x\Microsoft Information Store\First Storage Group Access denied to file Logs.
Error writing file data.
Access denied to file Logs.
Error writing file data.
Error writing file data.
Error writing file data.