cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup events seem to have no record

Tom_Cantlon
Level 2
I'm new to Backup Exec. Inherited this system lately as the computer consultant. It has a schedule to do a full backup every week night and the server is on all the time. When I look at the record of events all I see are the failed events, from a bad tape or some such. For most nights there is no record. Since there is no record I cannot get the details of what was backed up. I go to Job Monitor, Jobs List, Show All, and for the last several months there were a half dozen jobs that failed and that's all that shows. I read in the docs where, if there were successful events, I could get the details of what was backed up. This makes me uneasy that nothing is getting backed up. The interface is quite confusing. I would expect if it was failing every night it would say so. How do I verify what's going on?

Thanks
4 REPLIES 4

Keith_Langmead
Level 6
Within the job monitor you should see a list of all the jobs which have run, whether successful or failed. Successful jobs are displayed in black while failed jobs are displayed in red. If the only jobs you're seeing are red failed jobs then I'd suspect that you're not actually getting any successful jobs which you're right to be worried about.

In the jobs list, those jobs which are listed, do the jobs show anything in the bytes count? Have a look at the job durations, have they been running for a long period of time, eg have they been sat there waiting for something for several days, which would explain why you're not seeing many actual jobs. If you look in the properties of the failed jobs you should be able to see information about what information was actually backedup if any, and hopefully any relevant error information which will explain why the jobs are failing.

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Sure soiunds like you are not getting any backups done