cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup selection based on date accessed/modified

Wayne_McKay
Level 3
I want to simplify our backup process by selecting all server volumes and disks in the 'selection' tree, but only backup data that has been modified or accessed in the past 12 months (we're able to do a full backup each night). We have a lot of data that has not been touched in years, but I don't want the headache of identifying and deselecting these directories & files individually (management want the data kept on the servers!).
I don't really want to start suing incremental backups (unless I have to).

I'm new to this product, can it be done?

Thanks
8 REPLIES 8

Deepali_Badave
Level 6
Employee
Hello,

A Full backup backs up all of specified files regardless of the datetime stamp.

Advantage: Quickest restore times because it is the most current data.
Disadvantage: Takes the most amount of time and media space of all backups because it is backing up all data regardless of the datetime stamp.

A Differential Incremental backup backs up only the selected files that had their datetime stamp change since the full backup or last differential incremental backup. This results in a backup of all files that are new or changed since the last full backup or last differential incremental backup.

Advantage: Least amount of backup time and media space required of all the backup methods.
Disadvantage: Restore of the full backup and all differential incremental backups are required to get back to the most current data. Restores can take a long time depending on how many differential incremental backups need to be restored.

A Cumulative Incremental backup backs up only the selected files that had their datetime stamp change since the last full backup. This results in a backup of all new or changed files since the last full backup only.