cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup-to-disk Failure / Media Set

DRo
Level 3

Backup Exec 12.5 - Attempting Exchange backup-to-disk

I want to retain my Exchange, GRT enabled backup for 5 days, And afterwhich begin an overwrite of the earliest one. I Attempted a number of media set options but i cant seem to get it right. It backed up fine two night in a row but failed the 3rd night on all 3 attempts. It actually seems to copy full Information Store then somehow fails at the end and says it was a directory error. I believe it has to do with media set options an doverwirte protection, but i dont understand it very well yet. Im a bit new to BExec

What is the diffenrence in purpose between the B2D00000 file and the IMG000000... files within my backup to disk folder under Devices. Sorry I hope this isnt a big bother. The main issue is how to setup the backup cycle to retain 5 days on the disk and then overwrite. Your expertise is very much required. Thanks Much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ken_Putnam
Level 6

OK

Verify that all your jobs are defined as "overwrite" not "append"

As Hywel mentioned, make sure from Tools/Options/Media Management that the option to "use overwriteable media in the target media set before scratch media" is selected.

To retain 5 backup sets, set the OPP (Overwrite Protection Period) for the media set to 4 days [just in case the job ends after midnight] and the APP to 0 never append)

That should do what you want

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Hywel_Mallett
Level 6
Certified

B2D files are the "normal" files created by a backup-to-disk.

IMG files are the files created by GRT (granular restore-enabled backup) of an Exchange server.

If you were not using GRT for your backups, you would simply set your media set to have an Overwrite Protection Period of 5 days, and ensure that your media overwrite option was set to use overwritable media before scratch media.