cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practices for New User Implementing BE 11d?

Joe_Hutchison
Level 4
I am new to Backup Exec and I was looking for some advice.

What I want to do is perform Backup to Disk backups on a hard drive on our server. From there, I want to transfer them to an external hard drive for disaster recovery purposes.

I'm also installing Continuous Protection, to ensure that I get the files that change during the day.

Should I just copy the Backup to Disc folders to the removable hard drive, or should I create removable Backup to Disc folders, and copy the data files to them?

What strangeness does Continuous Protection add to this mix????

Thanks! I do appreciate someone taking the time to help out a new BE user!
6 REPLIES 6

Philip_Pearson
Level 6
It depends what DR you are trying to achieve.

If you backup to a removeable hard drive you only have one point of recovery, if you backup to a hard drive on your server and copy to your removeable drive then you have two.

The trouble I see you having is with historical data, you would have trouble going back 6 months for example to get an old file. That is the beauty of a good tape rotation, you can go back a long way. I would prefer to see you backup to disk then to tape for your offsite storage. Hard drives can be problematic for long term storage.

CPS is real time backups, you do not have a specified backup window. So file changes are automatically protected as they occur.

A few people have had issues though with CPS so it may take some time to get going.

Joe_Hutchison
Level 4
Philip - thanks for taking the time to respond!

I'm after 2 things with DR:
1) Catastrophic recovery - I lose the entire server, and I need to recover on a different system at a different location.
2) People errors - accidental deletion or overwrite of a file.