cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Backup Exec 2014 be installed on Windows Storage Server 2012

valiantj
Level 2

Hi there,

I'm new to Backup Exec solution.  I have two questions.  

1) Do Backup Exec 2014 have to be installed onto a standalone server?

2) Can Backup Exec 2014 be installed onto a NAS running Storage Server 2012?

Thanks in advance for any insight or suggestions.

14 REPLIES 14

Steve_4
Level 4

Hi Valiantj,

For the first question;
No, it does not have to be installed on a standalone server, other roles etc can be installed on the same server as the backup exec server....It is just not practice by Microsoft...But Symantec has not mentioned any issues.

To answer your second question,

Yes, Windows storage server 2012 is supported with Backup Exec 2014:
http://www.symantec.com/business/support/library/BUSINESS/xCL/TECH217478/be_2014_scl.pdf

Regards,
Steve

Steve_4
Level 4

Oh and make sure you comply with the hardware compatibility list as well if installing on a server which is not standalone: http://www.symantec.com/business/support/library/BUSINESS/xCL/TECH214803/be_2014_hcl.pdf

pkh
   VIP    Certified

Can Backup Exec 2014 be installed onto a NAS running Storage Server 2012?

What is the make and model of this NAS?

Normally, the NAS manufacturer would not allow anything to be installed on the NAS, including BE.  The OS of the NAS is normally a customised and harden version of the OS.

valiantj
Level 2

pkh - its a DELL PowerVault NX3200.  It came preloaded with Windows Storage Server 2012.

Thanks

valiantj
Level 2

Thanks, I will be sure to review the attached document beforehand. 

Steve_4
Level 4

Sorry must have skimmed over the NAS part, Storage Server is supported otherwise

Pkh, this particular NAS is not designed to host applications but can if they are a backup or storage solution such as backup exec.

So yes you can install Backup Exec on this device Valiantj

Regards,
Steve