cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Catalog hangs on Loading Media

Ashley_Mobley
Level 2
Hello-

I am fairly new to Backup Exec, but our employee who knew how to run it has left the company.  We are using Backup Exec 12.

I need to catalog many old tapes.  I put the tapes in the drive, and run an inventory and they are discovered.  Then, I right click on the slot I need in the devices tab and select Catalog Media.  When I click "Run Now" the job is created, and it goes to the Active state, but the current operation stays at 'None" and the job status gets stuck on "Loading Media."  I've let it sit for 5 or 6 hours and this same thing happens with different tapes.  

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks so much for your help!
5 REPLIES 5

Moe_Howard
Level 4

Based on your description of the problem you mentioned the word "slots".  This implies you have a media changer, tape library, etc...  Normally you do not have to put tapes in the drive inside the media changer because it will do this for you.  You also do not have to run an inventory of the tapes either with a media changer...this is done on the fly when the media is mounted by the internal robotic arm.

My guess is that Backup Exec Alerts have been suppressed and there is an active one pertaining to the catalog job(s) you are attempting to run.  After you run the catalog job and get it to :hang" click on the Alerts tab to see if one exists for the job you just ran.  If so, then open it and see what BE wants you to do.

Otherwise, you may be missing a simple step.