cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant Failures of Jobs with numerous reasons

wedmonds
Level 3

Hi People,

I am attempting to get regular and consistently succesful backups using Backup Exec 2012 sitting on a 2008r2 server, running Exchange 2007.

I am relatively new to backup exec 2012 and have not really had problems with previous versions of the software so I may be missing critical elements that everyone else assumes and does by default.

Originally, the server was set to tape backup and this regularly failed with inconsistent tape error due to errors on the tape.
This I am happy to put down to a case of age of tape, condtions they were kept in etc etc.

In order to get away from tape we began testing to Backup-to-folders located on another machine on the network.
We split the original job into a number of smaller elements, specifcally an 'Exchange' backup and a daily 'Work' backup.  We then pointed each one of these backups to its own folder on the other machine.

We then created a brand new user account and followed the instructions as advised by Symantec in order to create an admin account.
This was then tested and all works great.

We then tested the backups manually and each one completed succesfully.
Finally we checked the times they took to complete and scheduled them to run automatically each evening ensuring that they did not overlap (although we did not see this being a major problem if they did as our tests showed they still ran fine)

----------

Some evening these backups work, some they do not (in fact most of the time they fail)
If we run the job manually, sometimes they work, sometimes they do not.
Nothing is being changed by us so its proving very difficult to find the exact cause.

Work Backup
This job fails with the message:

Job ended: 19 June 2013 at 00:53:47
Completed status: Failed
Final error: 0xe000fe09 - The directory is invalid.
Final error category: Resource Errors