cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous Backup Problems

Kevin_Dopke
Level 3
I have a Dell Poweredge 2600 Windows 2003 server with a 4mm tape drive (it says it a Dell drive)and Backup Exec 9.1, as it was originally setup it ran every night at 10PM and did a full backup. As of about a month ago, it started to fail--I would come in in the morning and the tape would be popped out. It seems to have started around the time I ran out of Sony tapes, I had new Sony tapes, then I ran out and started to reuse the old Sony tapes. Now I was just poppping them in, I wasnt moving them to recycled or scratch as I am new to backup exec and tape backups, so I eventually I decided to order more new tapes and I got TDK DDS 4 and when I would pop them in, the next day it would always be popped out and the warning would say "please insert overwriteable media" I have been reading and trying to figureout what to do, so I made a new media set and ordered new Sony tapes and now what happens is the job the used to run at 10pm and take two hours is still running the next day at 8am and has only backed up 314k. The only difference is I added the servers system state. I am just so frustrated and not sure what to do--was hoping somebody might be able to make heads or tails of my rambling explanation--help!
13 REPLIES 13

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Until you get this straightened out, just to get a backup done, insert a tape, inventory and if the header Info does NOT display in blue drag the volume to the scratch media set.

Back to your problem. What is the OPP (Overwrite Protection Period) for the media set(s) in question.

If you have used the default, it is permanent, meaning that BackupExec will never overwrite that tape.

if you plan to use the same tape every two weeks, change the OPP of the media set to 13 days, if every three weeks, to 20 days etc.

Kevin_Dopke
Level 3