cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Differential depnedent on Incremental?

schraids
Level 3

Hello all, I'm very new to BE, and just recently installed BE2014 to test as a backup solution for my company.  I have setup the following schedule, but seem to be having problems with my differential backups being dependent on my incrementals. 

Full backup every 6 months, keep 1 year > Daily Incremental, keep 5 weeks > Monthly Differential, keep 27 weeks.

The problem I'm seeing after the monthly differential was created is that the incrementals before it are not able to expire, because the differential is dependent on them.  It was my understanding that a differential was "All data that has changed since the last Full Backup" so why is it saying its dependent on the incremental backups before it.  Am I doing something wrong?  Does my schedule make no sense at all?  Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

lmosla
Level 6

Hello schraids, 

The differential backups include all files that have changed since the last full or incremental backup. Take a look at http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO98909   You should refine the backup schedule, if you can , to run full backups more often.  For a more robust protection strategy typically full backups are ran more often than every 6 months. 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

lmosla
Level 6

Hello schraids, 

The differential backups include all files that have changed since the last full or incremental backup. Take a look at http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO98909   You should refine the backup schedule, if you can , to run full backups more often.  For a more robust protection strategy typically full backups are ran more often than every 6 months. 

schraids
Level 3