cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange Restore failing on Authentication!

Will_Davies
Level 2
Wonder if anyone has any pointers to this. I'm trying to restore 1 mailbox from a tape from approx 2 yrs ago. I don't want to overwrite the current mailbox of the person as she's still here.
I've never done this before so decided to build a new W2k server, and put Exchange 5.5 on it, and BackupExecv 9.1 then restore the mailbox to the new server so we could then extract to PST etc.
Anyhow - I've been banging my head against walls now for over a week - surely this shouldn't be that hard? The mailboxes can be selected individually from the restore selection (after doing an inv. and catalog of the tape).

When I go to test the credentials;

- It tests OK for the Server connection
- But when it tried to test the Exchange\Mailboxes selection - it fails. I've tried using every combination of accounts I can think of, none work.

Does anyone know which specific (type of) account I should be using for this part? System logon / Backupexec account / Admin etc.

All help gladfully received.....!
6 REPLIES 6

Amorphous_Sage
Level 4
Hi, its a while since I did this but I do remember thsi working ok. Infact what I did was to setup Exchange with the same name etc as the live Exchange box and restore the whole PRIV.EDB.

Then run an ISINTEG to regig things. Then connect via Outlook and dump to .PST

The way you are doing it I think requires the original user to exist again on that box and if it doesnt match at restore it bombs out. Did you restore the original user accounts from the backup too?

If you do restore the whole PRIV.EDB databse (may take longer but is easier in my eyes) you can then attach any account to any mailbox (in Exchange Manager). i.e. you won't have any restore permission issues.

Will_Davies
Level 2
Thanks for that was helpful.

However, some more information: