cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exec view 6.1 restore from tape help

GreenyIT
Level 3

I am trying to restore data from a old backup tape the tape is a "LTO Ultrium 1"

I have the old tape drive installed on a old server turned desktop PC running windows 7 32bit. 

I can see the tape drive in device manager but not under removable storage under My Computer.

I installed the old software they had from 1996 Exec View to try and recover the data off the tape. I also installed Backup Exec 2014 trial to try and get the data off the tape as well. I cannot seem to find where to go for the software to see or find the tape? I have never used any of this software before if someone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

My objective here is to restore data from a few old LTO 1 tapes the server it used to run on is no longer in service. 

Thanks Greeny

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

GreenyIT
Level 3

Nevermind I figured it out. I just had to click on the server name and restore tab finally became ungreyed. I am restoring files now. Thanks

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

pkh
   VIP    Certified
You cannot load BE 2014 on Windows 7. You need a server class OS starting with Server 2003 R2 to load BE 2014. See the SCL below http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH217478 As for your tape drive, check the HCL below to make sure it is supported http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH214803 Exec View is so old it will not work with Windows 7. Also, it is used by users to restore files from file archives. Without the archives, this is useless

GreenyIT
Level 3

I have a copy of Windows Server 2003. Would you suggest the easiest way for me to get data off the tapes is to load server 2003 on my server and use the 2014 trial version?

Thanks

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited