cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Please! with Backup Exec 10

Mera_Mott
Not applicable
Hi,

I am new to Veritas Backup and would like some help setting it up.

I have an already running backup system which is very confusing for me to understand. I am not having any trouble running the backups. My biggest problem is with the Tapes. They are labeled such a way that I am not sure which one to use. For example, we have two servers, exchange and a File server that we back up. I would like to run a full backup once a week and incremental two to three times a week. How should the tapes be labeled for this operation and would it be possible for me to use the old tapes? Should I be labeling the tapes as, week1, week2, week3, etc and reuse week 1 on the fifth week for the Full backup and Inc1, Inc2, Inc3, for Incremental and just rotate them every week?

If I insert a wrong tape, will the software know if it is the wrong one? Will it prompt me for right tape and if the backup is successful, should I assume that the tape I inserted was the right one?

I would really appreciate someone help in this matter asap.

Mera
2 REPLIES 2

Keith_Langmead
Level 6
I think this is one of those where there's not necessarily one 100% correct answer, as there are multiple ways you could do it all of which have their good and bad points.

In terms of labelling the tapes, I think the most important thing is to ensure that however you label the tapes you can easily determine which ones are required when, and when each tape was used. From your description, if we assume the full will be done on Fridays with four weeks worth of tapes, and incrementals on Monday to Thursday being reused each week, I'd probably go for something like :

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 1, Friday 2, Friday 3, Friday 4.