cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Invalid credentials for system state backup

JordiPuig
Level 3

Hi,

I'm new in Symantec Backup Exec, and just downloaded and installed 2012 trialware.

After installed, I tried to create a new scheduled tape backup, but if I use the "Check credentials" option I get an error in "system state" and in "snapshot components".

I use the logon account to do it, which is a domain administrator with full privileges. I also tried to create a new domain administrator account and add it to the local backup administrators group, but I get the same error.

I looked for it in forums, but there is not much information about 2012 version, so if anybody can help me I would appreciate it.

Operating system: Windows 2008 R2 / Local backup in an attached tape drive.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JordiPuig
Level 3

Well, after folowing all KBs, installing all windows updates, re-installing BE 4 times, changing AD GPOs, checking local permissions lot of times....

BE stills saying that I have no rights to backup system state and VSS.

So I decided to try it, and that was successfull!!

After 2 weeks working on it, the error that BE was showing is... not an error.

I supose its a joke for BE begginers.

Anyway thanks for your help!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

If you're running an antivirus on that server, stop and disable it and run the backup again.

If it succeeds, put through exclusions for the BE services.

I've had the same issue with McAfee blocking access to server System States!

THanks!

JordiPuig
Level 3

Hi CraigV,

I had it installed, but I remember I saw a post (don't know if it was from you) telling abut to disable it and then I did it.

I can confirm it is full uninstalled, but I'm facing the same trouble.

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited